Emory University | Woodruff Health Sciences Center
Bookmark and Share

Curran elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dean James Curran was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

One of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies, the American Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, global security and international affairs, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.

Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading "thinkers and doers" from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th, and Margaret Mead and Martin Luther King, Jr. in the 20th.

The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners. "We are honored to elect a new class of extraordinary women and men to join our distinguished membership," says Don Randel, chair of the Academy's board of directors.

"Each new member is a leader in his or her field and has made a distinct contribution to the nation and the world. We look forward to engaging them in the intellectual life of this vibrant institution."

Related Resources

"Four Emory faculty named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences" (4/22/2015)

Emory Members: American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Email the editor