Emory University | Woodruff Health Sciences Center
Bookmark and Share

New mental health center

Story Photo

Rollins has established a Southeast Mental Health Technology Transfer Center. The 21st Century Cures Act, passed by Congress in 2016, established a national network of 10 regional technical assistance and training centers to promote uptake of evidence-based practices for people with serious mental illnesses. The Rollins center will be the only one of these to be based in a school of public health. It will build upon public health training available through the Region IV Public Health Training Center (also headquartered at Rollins) and partner with a variety of area mental health organizations.

“Establishment of this center is going to synergize with the various research projects Rollins is already doing and give us an opportunity to make a greater impact throughout the Southeast,” says Dr. Benjamin Druss, Rosalynn Carter Chair in Mental Health. “It’s also going to bring new opportunities for faculty and students to think about the space where implementation meets implementation science.”

In addition to the research opportunities afforded to Rollins students through the center, they can specialize in mental health with the Certificate in Mental Health program. Students can further build upon their interest in this field through the student organization, Emory Mental Health Alliance, which gives members the opportunity to network with faculty, alumni, and researchers working in public mental health.

Email the editor